The state’s most prestigious science awards that honour the brightest scientists, researchers and educators are now open.

The 2017 South Australian Science Excellence Awards recognise and reward science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) professionals and recent PhD graduates for their ground-breaking research that contributes to the community and the state’s development.

The Awards also highlight the work of South Australian educators who have made an outstanding contribution to student learning in STEM areas by using innovative and creative approaches.

Science and Information Economy Minister Kyam Maher said, “the awards provide an opportunity to recognise the state’s leading STEM professionals who are conducting cutting-edge research and innovation that continues to solve our society’s problems in health care, the environment and education.

“It’s also a chance to highlight the work of our teachers who work tirelessly to break the negative stereotypes around maths and science by finding new ways to engage with students in the classroom.

“I encourage the scientific and innovation community to get involved and nominate individuals who have made significant contributions in science, research and technology, and teachers who are inspiring our next generation of STEM leaders.”

South Australia’s Chief Scientist Dr Leanna Read said, now in its thirteenth year, the Awards have celebrated the achievements of more than 70 winners who use cutting edge science, research and innovation to expand our knowledge in areas of critical importance.

“Last year’s winners continue to make important discoveries and contributions in their respective fields and remain active champions of science in the community.

“I look forward to seeing this year’s nominees and learning more about the outstanding work being done in South Australia.”

This year there are five categories, with a total of six awards:

  • South Australian Scientist of the Year
  • PhD Research Excellence
  • STEM Professional
  • STEM Educator of the Year
    • Tertiary Teaching
    • School Teaching
  • Excellence in Research Collaboration

The South Australian Scientist of the Year will receive a prize to the value of $25,000. Other category winners will receive a prize to the value of $10,000 to use towards their career development.

Winners will be announced at a Gala dinner on Friday, 11 August 2017 at the Adelaide Convention Centre.

Nominations close at 5pm on Friday, 5 May 2017.

For information or to nominate, visit SA Science Excellence Awards